40°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Newton’s Jenkins earns 4A All-State honors; seven others recognized

Published: Thursday, July 31, 2014 10:17 a.m. CST

Eight area high school softball players were recognized for their efforts during the 2014 season with state honors. The Iowa Girls Coaches Association released its 2014 All-State Softball Teams today.

Newton sophomore catcher Sydney Jenkins received Class 4A third-team honors.

Fresh off of winning fifth place at the Class 1A state softball tournament in Fort Dodge last week, five Lynnville-Sully players garnered state honors. Junior pitcher Madison Rasmusson and sophomore designated player Kasiah Ehresman were named to the All-Class 1A first team. Junior shortstop Shelby Davis earned second team honors, senior catcher Becca Vos was named to the third team and senior second baseman Jade Van Rees earned honorable mention.

Colfax-Mingo freshman pitcher Amy Russell was named to the All-Class 2A third team.

Prairie City-Monore’s Abigail Gilson, senior first baseman, earned All-Class 3A first team honors.

More News