51°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Academic Achievements

Published: Monday, June 9, 2014 11:03 a.m. CDT

Dordt College

Ellie Rethmeier of Laurel has been awarded the Dordt College FFA and Presidential scholarships from Dordt College as an incoming student.

Derek Van Soelen of Sully has been awarded the Challenge and Cornelius and Hendrena Zylstra scholarships from Dordt College as an incoming student.

Upper Iowa University

Upper Iowa University names its 2013-14 Dean’s List. To be honored, the undergraduate must have earned a minimum 3.50 GPA for the semester and be enrolled as a full-time student.

Area students named to the dean’s list include: Brodi Applegate of Prairie City; Holly Lauters of Mitchellville; Jeff Bisom of Colfax; Adam Nordstrom of Colfax; Mark Newberg of Lynnville; and Timothy Rivers of Newton.

University of Dubuque

The University of Dubuque held its 162nd Commencement Ceremonies May 17 on the University of Dubuque Campus. Degrees were conferred upon 469, undergraduate, graduate, and seminary students, including Newton residents Nicholas Ellis, bachelor of science and Katelyn Jolivette, bachelor of arts, cum laude.