Mostly Cloudy
67°FMostly CloudyFull Forecast

1964 State Champs Honored

Published: Monday, Jan. 27, 2014 11:07 a.m. CDT • Updated: Monday, Jan. 27, 2014 11:56 a.m. CDT

These five men represented the 1963-64 Newton Senior High School state championship basketball team at Friday’s 50th anniversary celebration. They are (left to right) Fred George, Larry Lust, Randy Mills, Dave Warrick, Denny Williams. The 1964 Cardinals went 23-3 to claim the state championship for the second year in a row for NHS.

National video

Reader Poll

Earth Day is April 22 — how will you celebrate?
Plant a tree
Recycle or repurpose something
Attend Neil Smith Wildlife Refuge event
Pick up trash
I don’t celebrate Earth Day