33°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Supervisors to vote on adding new deputy

Published: Monday, Dec. 2, 2013 11:32 a.m. CST • Updated: Monday, Dec. 2, 2013 11:33 a.m. CST

Tuesday, Jasper County Human Resources Director Dennis Simon will be seeking the Board of Supervisors’ approval for 5 new county employees, including a new deputy.

If approved, Jason Cunningham would become the newest deputy for the Jasper County Sheriff’s Office, effective Wednesday. Three other potential hires will be for either part-time or temporary positions within the Secondary Roads Department for snow removal. The fifth position will be a part-time jailor at the Jasper County Jail.

Jasper County Treasurer Doug Bishop will seek board approval for several transfer orders. Transfer Order 1311, which is for $132,159.19, would cover the debt payment for the TPI/Opus Economic Development Grant.

Transfer Order 1312, which amounts to $15,582.18, would also cover a debt payment. If approved, the county would use those funds to cover a debt payment towards the Comfort Inn Hotel along the Colfax Interchange off of Interstate 80.

Transfer Order 1313 would cover debt payment for a previously passed road resurfacing bond for the unincorporated towns in Jasper County. The amount to be paid is $33,542.17.

The final transfer order request, 1314, would be for $3,797.38, and would go towards repaying the debt incurred for the development of the Jasper County Law Enforcement Center, which houses the county’s dispatch, jail and sheriff’s office.

In other business:

• Jasper County Economic Development Corporation Executive Director Chaz Allen will present an economic report to the board.

• Deputy Auditor Teresa Arrowood will present an urban renewal report to the board.

• Jasper County Recorder Nancy Parrot will submit her office’s monthly report for approval.  Her office collected $20,650.85 for October.

• Fore Seasons Golf Practice Center will seek board approval for renewal of its liquor license.

• • •

Staff writer Ty Rushing may be contacted at (641) 792-3121, ext. 426, or at trushing@newtondailynews.com