46°FOvercastFull Forecast

Two area athletes to play in all-star baseball games

Published: Thursday, Aug. 1, 2013 11:18 a.m. CDT • Updated: Thursday, Aug. 1, 2013 11:48 a.m. CDT
(Jocelyn Sheets/Daily News)
Newton senior catcher Taylor Field was selected to play in the 2013 Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association All-Star Series, Aug. 8-11, in Des Moines. He will play on the large schools East Squad.

DES MOINES — Newton Senior High’s Taylor Field and Pella Christian High’s Caleb Morgan were selected to play in the 2013 annual Iowa High School Baseball Coaches Association All-Star Series. The rosters were announced this week.

The series is Aug. 8-11 at Principal Park and at West Des Moines Valley.

Here are the rosters for the games:

Small Schools West Squad

Pitchers: Jonathan Van Beek – West Lyon, Casey Berg – IKM-Manning, Austin Lefler – Lawton-Bronson, Trey Kehoe – Prairie Valley.  Catchers: Colin Bolkema – Boyden Hull-Rock Valley, Jake Lewis – St. Albert. Infield:  Matt Smith – Lawton-Bronson, John Burns – Bishop Garrigan, Alec Sorensen – Treynor, Tyler Robinson – AHST, Brennan Azinger – Logan. Outfield:  Jake Daeges – Harlan, Trent Verwers – Martensdale-St. Marys, David Flattery – St. Edmond-Ft. Dodge, Colby Baumhover – Kuemper-Carroll. Utility:  Kyle Herrick – ADM. Coaches:   Will Azinger (Head Coach)-Logan, Jason Holst – AHST, Mark Feilmeier – Kuemper-Carroll.

Small Schools East Squad

Pitchers:  Michael Knouse – Davenport Assumption, Cole Crawford – Wilton, Jerry Kockler – Clear Lake, Mitch Moser – Benton Community. Catchers:   Jake Thumann – Central Clinton-DeWitt, Jacob Webb – Central Springs. Infield: Caleb Morgan – Pella Christian, Christian Bambrook – Eddyville-Blakesburg, Seth Kaufmann – Wilton, Jordan Baughman – Chariton, Ian Ross – Dyersville-Beckman.  Outfield: Gavin Sheakley – Clear Lake, Austin Lechtenberg – Central Clinton-DeWitt, Connor Welch – Mt. Vernon,  Austin Peterson – Chariton. Utility:  Gage Carpenter – Wapello. Coaches:  Jeff Eeling (Head Coach) – Fairfield,  Jake Souhrada – Wilton, Ethan Miller – Central Springs.

Large Schools West Squad

Pitchers:  Nick Belzer – Ankeny, Ethan Kenkel – Storm Lake, Grant Otte – Dowling Catholic, Tyler Vaughn – Fort Dodge.  Catchers:  Trey Lapke – Sioux City East, Jordan Niehaus – Waukee. Infield: Matt Johnson – Ankeny, Blake Judkins – Marshalltown, Aaron Krier – Storm Lake, Robert Lyons – Denison, Blake Meacham – Sioux City North. Outfield:  Tanner Hinkle – West DM Valley, Phil Velez – SE Polk, Jacob Lamoreux – LeMars, Tyler Franko – Sioux City East. Utility:  Ben Miller – West DM Valley.  Coaches:  Don Lyons (Head Coach) Denison, Steve Hanson – Marshalltown, Brian Dirkx – Spencer.

Large Schools East Squad

Pitchers:  Mitch Adams – Cedar Rapids Prairie, Derek Burkamper – Muscatine, Anthony Ruden – Dubuque Wahlert, Todd Oberthien – Solon. Catchers: Josh Crosby – Iowa City High,  Taylor Field – Newton. Infield: Cody Collender – Clinton, Brandon Engler – North Scott, Reid Bonner – Iowa City West, Alex Beals – Bettendorf, Sam Mrstik – Iowa City High. Outfield: Kris Klabunde – Bettendorf, Cody Reimer – Western Dubuque, Ezra Reiners – Iowa City West, Colton Dall – Solon. Utility: Eric Huber – North Scott.   Coaches:   Brandon Schmidt (Head Coach) – Oskaloosa, Kory Kelchen – Waterloo West, Chad Lechner – Linn-Mar.

National video

Reader Poll

Did the Newton City Council make the right decision in allocating $1 million toward acquisitions and demolitions of commercial buildings on First Avenue and the interchange corridors?