Fair and Breezy
32°FFair and BreezyFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

IAFP Seeking Nominations for 2013 Family Physician of the Year Award

Published: Wednesday, July 3, 2013 11:38 a.m. CST • Updated: Wednesday, July 3, 2013 11:39 a.m. CST

DES MOINES — Is your family physician the best of the best? Do they go above and beyond to care for their patients? Are they active in the community? Do you think they deserve the 2013 Family Physician on the Year Award? If so, the Iowa Academy of Family Physicians wants to hear about them.

The IAFP is seeking nominations for the 2013 Family Physician of the Year. Each year the IAFP awards one family physician the title “Family Physician of the Year” on the basis of outstanding service to patients and community, and devotion to Family Medicine.

If you would like to nominate your family physician please send letters of nomination to the Iowa Academy describing why their family physician should receive the Family Physician of the Year Award.

Nomination letters should be sent by Aug. 16 to the Iowa Academy of Family Physicians, 100 E. Grand Ave., Ste. 170, Des Moines, IA 50309 or emailed to kcox@iaafp.org.

The 2013 Iowa Family Physician of Year will be honored during the Iowa Academy of Family Physicians Annual Installation and Awards Banquet on Nov. 1at the Prairie Meadows Event Center. In the early part of 2014, the 2013 Iowa Family Physician of the Year will be nominated for the American Academy of Family Physicians National Family Physician of Year.

Previous recipients have been: 1988 Scott Helmers, MD, Sibley; 1989 Dale Christensen, MD, Lake City; 1990 James R. Paulson, MD, Grinnell; 1991 Rodney Miller, MD, Sac City; 1992 Marion Barnes, MD, Cedar Rapids; 1993 Francis Pisney, MD, Iowa Falls; 1994 Kelly D. Ross, MD, St. Ansgar; 1995 David Paulus, MD, Red Oak; 1996 Alan Vasher, DO, Ida Grove; 1997 John W. Barnes, MD, Missouri Valley; 1998 Ronald Zoutendam, MD, Sheldon; 1999 Donald Skinner, MD, Lake City; 2000 Richard A. Jongewaard, MD, Sioux Center; 2001 Cynthia Wolff, MD, Akron; 2002 David Crippin, MD, Storm Lake; 2003 Michael Gimbell, III, MD, Iowa City; 2004 Kenton Moss, MD, Algona; 2005 David Carlson, MD, West Burlington; 2006 Sharon Bertroche, MD, Cedar Rapids; 2007 Dale Nystrom, MD of Sioux Center; 2008 Subhash Sahai, MD, Webster City; 2009 Craig Thompson, DO, Manchester; 2010 Michael AbouAssaly, MD, Burlington; 2011 Douglas Peters, MD, West Burlington and 2012 Ried Boom, MD, Manchester.

More News