Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.

Local Graduates and Awards

Truman State University President’s List

KIRKSVILLE, Mo. — Cameron Mark Jones, major in Biology, Spanish, Pre-Education/Secondary from Colfax was named to the Spring 2013 President’s List at Truman State University.

To qualify for this list, an undergraduate student must attain a semester 4.0 grade point average and must complete 12 semester hours of credit.

Kirkwood Community College graduates announced

CEDAR RAPIDS — Kirkwood Community College has announced the graduating class of 2012-2013. College faculty and administration joined friends and family in saluting the grads at commencement ceremonies at the Cedar Rapids Ice Arena in Cedar Rapids, May 18.

Receiving degrees were John McNulty, Agricultural Geospatial Technology — AAS, of Kellogg; Paul Holdefer, Construction Management — AAS, of Mingo; Colton James, Agricultural Geospatial Technology — AAS; Frank Rose, Parks & Natural Resources – AAS and Ashley Warner, Liberal Arts — AA, all of Newton; and Mariah Terlouw, Veterinary Technician — AAS, of Sully.

Wartburg College announces Dean’s List

WAVERLY — Wartburg College has recognized 502 students who made the 2013 Winter/May Term Dean’s List. Students who earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or above in at least five course credits during the two terms. Four of the five course credits must be graded with a traditional letter grade.

Students placed on the Winter/May Term Dean’s List include Sarah Kielly, sophomore, daughter of David and Carol Kielly of Baxter and Brady Van Sickle, sophomore, son of Tim and Joni Van Sickle of Newton.

Gallagher graduates from Northern Arizona University

Joe Gallagher, Newton High Class of 2003, graduated with the class of 2013 at Northern Arizona University. With a BS Degree in Construction Management from the Engineering College at Northern Arizona University in hand, Joe is now on his way to a career with McCarthy Building Companies. Some accomplishments during his college career include:

• President of Sigma Lambda Chi Construction Management Honors Society

• Association of General Contractors (AGC) Representative in the Construction Management Organization (CMO)

• Team Captain of the Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) Competition on the Commercial Team

• Recipient of the Student Scholar award class of Spring 2013

Joe’s parent’s Carla and Whit Johnson are residents of Newton, Carla is a nurse at Skiff Hospital. Joe’s first project with McCarthy is a major Hospital expansion in Arizona. Congratulations to Joe and the class of 2013!

Sander graduates from School of Mines

RAPID CITY, S.D. – Nearly 270 students received Associate of Arts, Bachelor of Science, Master of Science or Doctor of Philosophy degrees at the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology’s 167th commencement ceremony.

Among area students earning degrees was Jonathan Sander, cum laude, B.S., ME Mechanical Engineering, of Newton.

Van Wyk receives Physical Education award

Preston Van Wyk, a student at PCM Middle School, was recently recognized by the United State Achievement Academy for excellence in physical education. Preston was nominated by P.E. teacher Matt Rider. Preston is the son of Danny and JoAnn Van Wyk of Monroe, grandson of Mary Schuttinga of Prairie City and Carleta Stocker of Moravia.

Indian Hills Community College releases Honor Roll

OTTUMWA — Indian Hills Community College has released the names of the students who were on the college’s academic Honor Roll for the 2013 Spring Term. To be included on the Honor Roll, an IHCC student must be enrolled fulltime and have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher for the term.

Making the honor roll were Justin Hewitt of Colfax, Teresa M. Jones of Monroe and Melanie L. Etter of Newton.

Loading more