25°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Jarrett headlines NASCAR Hall of Fame nominees

Published: Thursday, April 11, 2013 11:32 a.m. CST

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (AP) — NASCAR champion Dale Jarrett headlined the 25 nominees announced for next year’s Hall of Fame class — a list that finally includes track magnate Bruton Smith.

Only five nominees are new to the list, with the other 20 carrying over from last year. Joining Jarrett and Smith as new nominees were engine builder Maurice Petty, five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion Larry Phillips and 1960 NASCAR champion Rex White. Five people will be selected for induction into the fifth Hall of Fame class in May 22 voting by a 54-member panel.