40°FFog/MistFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

Local residents place in DMACC writing contest

Published: Thursday, Feb. 28, 2013 10:58 a.m. CST • Updated: Thursday, Feb. 28, 2013 11:00 a.m. CST

Caitlin Hainley of Mingo received a $1,000 Des Moines Area Community College Foundation Scholarship for taking first place in the annual DMACC District-wide Creative Writing Contest.

Brianna Brawley of Newton placed third in the poetry section and received $25. Savannah Wood of Colfax placed second in the fiction section, receiving a $50 prize, and Jason Allen of Newton placed third, received $25.

Jennifer Stanton of Newton received an honorable mention in the fiction section.

The prizes were provided from the DMACC Foundation, the Ankeny Campus Student Activities Council and the Science and Humanities Department.

More News